Late Fees

Hmm… this is a little bit different from my posts of late. I actually started off this week going for an Al Ross minimalist approach after reading Cartoon Fundamentals by Al Ross. I think my work has too much detail and not enough good form at this point to even attempt resembling anything by Ross. I’ve also been reading a bunch of kickass work by various artists. Max Estes’ Helllo, Again, Fermin Solis’ One Step after another, Matt Madden’s A Fine Mess #2, Adrian Tomaine’s optic NERVE #1-3; all really great top notch work. That’s in addition to all the web comics I’m reading on a regular basis thanks to Google Reader. I’m going to try and update my side bar sometime soon to reflect who online I’m always reading.

Notes on this strip: I borrowed Pranas Naujkaitis’ annoying customer for my Google Reader screen. I had so many jerks like that when I worked retail. Still a couple every once in a while in tech support. I tried using a brush for the first time a little bit in this strip. Didn’t work so well because I think the brush had some kind of stiff coating on it and I didn’t clean it off before I started inking, and I think it is too big. My closet local art store has been out of ink brushes for ages. I might have to venture a little further out to get some smaller brushes. Also, anybody have any nib care tips? Mine are starting to look like crap. Some rusty, some coated in dry ink. I guess I’m a maintenance slacker.

The latest SAHM talked about a little self doubt:

“I hate to post anything that I’m not completely satisfied with (although, in the interest of full disclosure, I have). It’s in these periods that I begin to question what is the purpose of my artwork. I just want to get my stuff out there and, in fact, I have many more ideas for projects than I have time in which to create. It’s just frustrating.”

I think all non-full-time artists suffer from this feeling. I know if I spent more time revising my own strips I could make better faces and add more details, etc, etc, but I’m also bound for time like Matt.

So I think the choice is between the artist putting out what he wants to say somewhat frequently and the presentation may suffer a little bit with that frequency, and putting out something infrequently with a really really good presentation.

As a reader, I would rather have frequent stuff with imperfections rather than something perfect (near-perfect, nothing is ever perfect) every once in a blue moon. I think that’s part of the medium of comics.

As a quasi-artist, I feel the same way. I rather express myself often, than wait to craft a perfect message. I’m trying to stick with once a week, so that’s still a tad bit infrequent depending on perspective, so I think I’m going to try and get the most bang for my buck with each week’s strip. I think this week’s was a little weaker on substance.

Well if anybody is out there, feel free to comment. Comments are great. Give them whenever you can so artists know their work is actually being consumed by someone besides himself.

*Oh yeah, I was able to renew the books online, which was nice.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Late Fees”

  1. Pat Rogers Says:

    I don’t check my e-mail regularly, so if you should reply do it by text. Drawling is a cool hobby and it takes some balls to post your vulnerabilities. Anyway white vinegar and a scotch-brite pad will take off the rust and ink. Let it soak over night.

    “If the women don’t find you handsome they should at least find you handy.” -Red Green Show

    Oh and

    “keep your stick on the ice”

Leave a Reply

